Think of this like a diary but attention-starved

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

It has been three weeks since I've last updated the blog, partially because I forgot about this site. Havn't finished those tracks I talked about previously, but I might upload a sample of what I have got done. Been thinking about cleaning up the home page a little, maybe add a site map or something. Thinking about dedicating a section to reviews on bands I like and stuff such as that. Some TrouserPress or Scarrifu-style pages going over them.

Speaking of, been listening to the new Deftones a lot lately. "Radiant City" is my favorite track off it. Beat through both skate tours in THPS1+2, which is nice. Not much else to talk about I suppose. I'm a boring person like that.

Until then.
-Steve

Thursday, September 3, 2020

As I write this, it is actually almost 2 AM into Friday morning. I might do another post tommorrow though so I'll just talk about Thursday. I worked today, closing shift, and it was alright. I was rather irrated when I came in, but mellowed out by the time I took lunch. Perhaps I was just hangry. As it turns out, my copy of the Tony Hawk remake has been delayed for some reason, so I wont get it until Tuesday. Bummer, as I have tommorrow off, as well as the rest of the weeked. What can you do? Lately been watching Star Trek: The Next Generation, currently on the fifth season. Tonight I am listening to a lot of Lowercase, as they recently uploaded their entire discography on bandcamp. Highly recommend it, they're like a mix of Unwound, Slint, and Bedhead. Minimalist at points but in a very ominous way, and they can be rather aggressive at times as well.

Last Monday I started "work" on an Azanah song. A slower track thats kind of like Godflesh. I'm only recording guitars with the help of a click track so as to send to my friend (the bassist) so that he can get an idea of how the song plays out. The song itself is unfinished, and I've only recorded the first half of it (or at least, the first half of what I do have.) Might upload it here when it's done. I've also been meaning to write some songs of a different tone, more indie-type stuff, as I know my girlfriend Bonnie really wants to make music with me and it would mean a lot to her. Not to make excuses (as I'm all too good at that) but with work I've become lazy and would rather spend my days off not having to "work" again with music. I've had ideas for 2 songs with her for a while now, I plan on working on them tommorrow.

If anything, I'm concerned about having to juggle writing songs for Azanah and writing songs with my girlfriend. But really, that's just another way for me to say "I'm just lazy."

Live long and prosper.
-Steve.

Sunday, August 30, 2020

Today is the first in which this site has become viewable to the public. I've heard about this site before from the dude that runs the Vice mini-zine, and recently I decided that it would be worth it to fuck around and make something of the knowledge. So kudos to him! I've uploaded some pictures of bands performing live in the photos section and I plan on uploading some more in the coming days/weeks/months/whenever I get around to it. I'm also going to work on making graphics and shit to upload too, just to make things a little more lively.

This past week, like every week since this year started, has been an absolute drag. Slaving my days away at work, still not knowing what to do for school or for a career - the average day in the life of me. Boo-hoo. Other than that, I've been listening to a lot of Deftones, Codeine, Carissa's Wierd, and Today Is The Day. Also been listening to Earth's Earth 2: Special Low Frequency Version a good bit lately. Those riffs could go on for days and I wouldn't mind, "Seven Angels" has become something of a soundtrack for me.

Lately I've been playing a lot of Team Fortress 2 as well. Not too sure why, mayhaps for nostalgic purposes? I was never particularly good at the game; I think if I were to actually look at my kill/death ratio it would be something like 2 kills for every 10 deaths. Perhaps I've developed a masochistic pleasure for it over the years. Speaking of games, the new Tony Hawk remake comes out in a few days (Friday, I think?) and I'm looking forward to it because I ordered that shit the second it was announced. I'm also looking forward to the new Deftones record that comes out on the 25th, also preordered that shit too. "Ohms" is a refreshing track, it's nice to hear Stef not hug onto the low string for a whole song.

Dueces.
-Steve.
Back to the mad house